News & Resources

Five Love Languages When Trying to Conceive

April 30, 2021

On Wednesday, April 28, IVF Florida teamed up with Licensed Mental Health Counselor Alina Gastesi-de Armas to discuss infertility and the psychological impact it has on couples and individuals. During the discussion, couples were introduced to the concept of love languages and the importance of building areas of communication and closeness during their unique journey to parenthood. 

Developed by psychologist Gary Chapman, the five love languages are five different ways of expressing and receiving love. When individuals and couples understand these languages, which include words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch, they can better communicate love to a partner’s needs, achieve a stronger sense of intimacy, and simultaneously identify their own needs.

Although infertility can be a time of stress and fear, the journey to parenthood can also present the opportunity to build a stronger relationship with your partner. To help figure out your and your partner’s love language, you can visit or read below to learn more. 

The Five Love Languages:

Words of Affirmation:
Those with words of affirmation as a love language value verbal encouragement, affirming words, and frequent digital communication like an encouraging text message. The shortest and simplest praises can go a long way.

Quality Time: People with quality time as a love language enjoy 1 on 1 uninterrupted time, meaningful conversations, eye contact, and making memories with their partner. Dedicated time without distractions will make them feel loved and comforted. 

Receiving Gifts: Those with receiving gifts as a love language feel loved and adored when they receive something both physical and meaningful. Things like cards, special notes, or their favorite treat after a stressful week can make a huge impact.

Acts of Service: Those with acts of service as a love language believe actions speak louder than words. They value things like offering to help without being asked, making coffee in the morning, or filling up the gas tank before work. Anything that makes their life easier will make them feel loved and appreciated. 

Physical Touch: Those with physical touch as their love language value physical intimacy and touch. Holding hands, hugging, cuddling, and kissing serve as powerful emotional connectors for people who value this love language. 

IVF FLORIDA is a proud partner of: